Fresh Reviews #1: Seared Salmon Tacos with Honey-Lime Slaw & Sriracha Ranch

29 Jan

Believe it or not, I don’t have all the creativity in the world at my disposal.  A lot of these crazy mishmashes of recipes I post on here are taken from other people (which I dutifully note at the bottom), and a lot of the others are what I like to call Frankenrecipes, which basically means I just took parts of 2 or 3 other recipes, jammed them together, and hoped they didn’t taste like something I just jammed together.

Point is, it’s hard coming up with your own stuff, and there’s a lot of people like me out there who do it all the time.  So I’m starting a new feature here called Fresh Reviews.  Each week I’ll be reviewing the lesser-known recipes I’ve probably dug up from the bowels of Foodgawker, and occasionally a restaurant or something, and letting you know what tastes good, and what doesn’t.

I’ll also be reviewing the recipes themselves, not just the finished product.  Someone might’ve posted a great pulled pork recipe, but if they include “brine your pork for 80 jillion hours” at the very end of the page, then you’re not gonna be eating delicious pork anytime soon (I’m looking at you, Dr. Pepper and Orange Juice Carnitas).

To sum up:  great recipes you haven’t heard of, crappy ones so you know what to avoid.  Fresh Reviews.  Here’s the first one.

712

I wanna start by saying that this was freaking delicious.  I added some roasted potatoes to make them even better, but even without that they’d be damn good.  Also, pickle your onions, folks.  I didn’t, and the woman who wrote this recipe didn’t, and at least one of us regrets it.  It makes every taco better.  Every.  Damn.  Taco.

Onto the recipe itself.  First off:

3 TBSP homemade or store-bought ranch dressing

Y’know, because everyone’s got that memorized like it’s one of the mother sauces.  Bearnaise, Roux, and RANCH.  I know you’re in the South, but come now.  Give us a recipe.  Especially because homemade ranch is way, way better than store-bought.  Here’s the one I used: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/ranch-dressing-ii/

While you’re at it, prep your corn tortillas by wrapping in a slightly moistened paper towel and microwaving for 25-30 seconds to steam…Next move on to the salmon.

Oh…ok?  So these tortillas are supposed to steam for 30 seconds, and magically stay hot and fresh for the next HALF HOUR it takes to prepare and cook the fish.  Tell me how I’m supposed to pull that off without having the coldest, floppiest tortillas of all time covering my delicious taco.

The salmon I buy always has the skin left on one side – simply remove it with a knife or sear that side [unseasoned] first, it will peel right off after a minute or two!

Actual good advice.  A rarity when reading these things.  Nice.

Crushing a fresh lime wedge atop each taco before they hit your face is optional, but oh-so delicious =)  Do it!

You mean squeezing a lime wedge over each taco?  Because you’re making it sound like I should place a wedge on top, and than slam it into the taco with my fist.  I feel like that might affect the presentation juuuust a bit.

Other than a few hiccups, everything came out delicious.  The slaw was fantastic (and light, which is crucial on a taco), the fish was light and flaky, even though I skipped the oven part.  Just make sure you read the whole recipe first.

I don’t know if I should have some sort of rating system on these things…4 out of 5 musical notes or some nonsense like that.  Lemme know if you want a shiny graphic of that, readers.  I’m all ears.  For now, I’m just gonna say this: make it.  It’s good.  And go to http://www.peasandcrayons.com/2012/11/seared-salmon-tacos-with-honey-lime.html for the recipe.

One Response to “Fresh Reviews #1: Seared Salmon Tacos with Honey-Lime Slaw & Sriracha Ranch”

  1. Rondazar January 30, 2013 at 1:44 pm #

    Great review. Refreshing to read a review on a food blog where the cook made the recipe as written. Too many reviews make five changes, and then rate the recipe down for it.

Leave a Reply

